Tuesday, February 27, 2024

13 parties tag along Kavitha on Women’s Reservation Bill

Must read


MLC Kalvakuntla Kavitha-led Bharat Jagruthi organised a round-table discussion for the passage of Women’s Reservation Bill in New Delhi on Wednesday with over 12 opposition parties and several civil society organisations.

Several members of Parliament from 13 political parties joined the discussion on the way forward for the Bill. MLC Kavitha called for greater participation of MPs in Parliament to ensure that the ruling government makes way for the tabling of the Bill. After holding a protest at Jantar Mantar on March 10, Kavitha held another round of discussions where she said that building pressure on a government which has a clear majority for the long-pending Women’s Reservation Bill is the need of the hour. She thanked all the dignitaries for their presence, while opening the house for a conversation with students.

The event was attended by MPs from BRS Party, JMM, DMK, RJD, Samajwadi Party, CPI, Shiv Sena, AAP, RLD, RSP (Kerala), CPM, VCK Party, Azad Samaj Party, farmer union leaders, women’s organisations and students.

Several leaders spoke on the Women’s Reservation Bill. Rajya Sabha MP Priyanka Chaturvedi said that ‘when the makers of Indian Constitution could ensure that women were given an equal right to vote, why the government in power cannot table the Bill to ensure greater participation of women in legislative affairs.’ She requested more women in legislative discourse to start demanding for the same.

RJD Leader and MP Prof Manoj Jha, was heard saying, “We stand in solidarity of the Bill. We must look for reservation within reservation. We must have a strategy whereby issues are raised in Parliament as well as outside.”

CPI MP and senior leader Binoy Biswam said, “The patriarchal tendencies have come in the way of the Bill. The rights of the women at this stage in the 21st century are denied even on matters of giving birth, and even with respect in Parliament. We view this initiative by Kavitha as a movement.”

RLD Women’s Wing Chief Pratibha Singh and leader Bhupinder Chaudhary, Mahua Maji, Rajya Sabha MP from the JMM, Rajya Sabha MP from Aam Aadmi Party, Raghav Chaddhaand MP from Samajwadi Party, senior leader Dr ST Hassan, Thol Tirumavalan, MP from VCK Party and DMK MP Thamizhachi Thangapandian and Farmer Union Leaders Gurnam Singh Chaduni and Rajewal were present.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article