Sunday, April 21, 2024

Battle lines clearly drawn in Nagarkurnool constituency

Must read

With all major parties finalising their candidates for the Nagarkarnool Lok Sabha seat, the battle lines are clearly drawn between Congress, BJP and BRS candidates.
While the Congress fielded Mallu Ravi from the constituency, the BJP gave ticket to Potuganti Bharat Prasad, a new entrant to the party, and the BRS is fielding RS Praveen Kumar, who recently crossed over to the BRS quitting the BSP.
In the recently Assembly elections, the Congress won from five Assembly segments of the Lok Sabha constituency- Kollapur (Minister Jupally Krishna Rao), Atchampeta, Kalwakurty, Nagarkurnool and Wanaparti.
In the total seven Assembly segment, the Congress candidates polled a total of 6,39,628 votes with a total majority of over 1,05,227. The BRS candidates polled a total of 5,34,401 votes and won from two segments. The difference in votes polled to Congress and BRS candidates is 11%.
The Congress cadres are jubilant and rearing to go to repeat the Assembly election results in Lok Sabha polls too.
The Congress high command preferred old horse Mallu Ravi to AICC secretary Sampath who aspired for the LS ticket from Nagarkurnool. Mallu Ravi tasted defeat in 2019, but he has the record of getting elected to LS from the seat in 1991 and 1998. He contested thrice from Jadcharla Assembly constituency, but maintained good rapport with Congress cadres of Nagarkurnool constituency.

Triangular contest is inevitable between Cong, BJP and BRS with former IPS officer RS Praveen Kumar who recently joined the BSP quit the party to join the BRS. He threw his hat in Nagarkurnool LS constituency ring. He belonged to Alampur constituency. The Alampur and Gadwal segments are said to be favourable to Praveen Kumar. But, the Congress and BJP impact in the two segments would negate the advantage to Praveen Kumar.
- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article