Thursday, July 25, 2024

Clean sweep for YSRCP in VMC Standing Committee

Must read

The ruling YSRCP has secured all six member posts of the Standing Committee in the Vijayawada Municipal Corporation in the election held on Tuesday. The loss of TDP candidate Ch Rammohan is a major setback for the party.
Seven corporators contested for the six posts in the VMC Standing Committee. Election Officer and Commissioner in charge Dr Mahesh oversaw the election held at the council hall. The Standing Committee is chaired by Mayor Rayana Bhagyalakshmi.
The elected members are: Ambadipudi Nirmala Kumar (second division), Bhimisetti Pravallika (third division), Bapati Koti Reddy (33rd division), Md Irfan (41st division), Valluri NDS Murthy (33rd division), and Esarapu Devi (57th division). Mahesh handed over the certificates of confirmation to all six members.
YSRCP holds the majority in the VMC council with 49 corporators, while TDP has 13 members, including one who switched to BJP from YSRCP, and CPM members. One post is vacant due to the resignation of Kesineni Swetha.
TDP contested for one post in the committee after appealing to the Mayor to allot a post. However, YSRCP refused and contested for all six posts. Additionally, TDP member representing the 32nd Division, Ch Rammohan, also contested the poll.
The election was held amidst tight police security, and only members with identification cards were allowed. Out of 63 valid voters, 59 members cast their votes. One CPM member, Boyi Satya Babu, boycotted the election, and several YSRCP members, including the floor leader Venkata Satyanarayana, Kalapala Ambedkar, and Bali Govind, did not cast their votes.
TDP candidate Rammohan received 16 votes. YSRCP candidate Devi received 47 votes, Murty and Irfan polled 45 votes each, Koti Reddy received 46 votes, and Pravallika and Nirmala Kumar received 47 votes each.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article