Monday, July 15, 2024

Delhi Mayor polls: AAP, BJP members clash during oath-taking ceremony of nominated councillors

Must read

AAP and BJP councillors clashed over the appointment of 10 aldermen by Lt Governor VK Saxena as the first meeting of the newly elected Municipal Corporation of Delhi House began on Friday.

The meeting began with BJP councillor Satya Sharma being administered the oath as presiding officer for the elections to the posts of Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) mayor and deputy mayor.

After Sharma invited alderman Manoj Sharma to take his oath, AAP MLAs and councillors began to protest.

Many also rushed to the well of the House, shouting slogans. The BJP councillors retaliated by raising slogans against AAP chief Arvind Kejriwal as AAP members returned fire by sloganeering against Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

The AAP has alleged that Saxena has appointed BJP leaders who were not experts in civic issues as aldermen.

Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, in a letter to Saxena on Thursday, also registered his protest on the issue.

The MCD House comprises 250 elected councillors.

The BJP’s seven Lok Sabha MPs from Delhi and the AAP’s three Rajya Sabha MPs and 14 MLAs nominated by the Delhi Assembly Speaker will also participate in the elections to the posts of mayor and deputy mayor.

Six members of the standing committee will also be elected.

The Congress, which has nine councillors, has decided not to take part in the voting.

Heavy deployment of police was in place at the Civic Centre building, the MCD headquarters, where the meeting is underway.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles


  1. … [Trackback]

    […] There you will find 60982 more Information to that Topic: […]

  2. … [Trackback]

    […] Information to that Topic: […]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article