Monday, June 17, 2024

EC to Collectors: No voter should be left out

Must read


A team from the Election Commission of India conducted a three-day poll preparedness meeting with senior officials from different enforcement agencies, District Collectors, Commissioners of Police (CPs) and SPs.

EC officials said that no voter should be left out. The Election Commission of India delegation convened a crucial meeting with District Collectors and CPs/SPs from all the 33 districts of Telangana to discuss poll preparedness ahead of the forthcoming Assembly elections to assess their readiness and progress of the 2nd SSR for 2023.

On revision of electoral rolls, the EC pointed out similar entries of voters, abnormal deletion of voters in some districts and asked the concerned collectors to ensure that no voter is left out. They were asked to sanitise the rolls and submit the report.

Telangana Chief Secretary, A. Shanti Kumari met a delegation from the Election Commission of India (ECI) on Saturday to discuss preparations for the Assembly elections in the State.

During the meeting, the Chief Secretary assured the ECI delegation the logistical support required to conduct elections smoothly.

The DGP said that unlike last time when polling stations were not provided in Left extremist areas, this time all out security and logistics will be provided. The DGP said they will beef up forces.

Finance Secretary Ramakrishna Rao assured financial support for the conduct of elections and necessary logistics. The EC has asked the CS about transfers and was told to ensure that the transfer of officials who completed three years is done before the election notification is issued comes. The CS assured that transfers will be done as per rules.

As directed by the ECI, a team led by Dharmendra Sharma and Nitesh Kumar Vyas, senior DECs, held the meeting for three days.

The ECI delegation, comprising top officials from the Election Commission of India, held a productive meeting with top officials from enforcement agencies like the Income Tax Department (CBDT), Narcotics Control Board (NCB), Excise Department, State GST CGST, Enforcement Directorate, State Level Bankers Committee (SLBC), Directorate of Revenue Intelligence (DRI), CISF and the State Commercial Tax Department to check the use of money power during elections.

The Election Commission of India delegation was led by Dharmendra Sharma, Senior Deputy Election Commissioner, accompanied by Nitish Kumar Vyas, Senior Deputy Election Commissioner, RK Gupta, Deputy Election Commissioner, Sanjay Kumar, Under Secretary, Avinash Kumar, Principal Secretary, Hirdesh Kumar, Deputy Election Commissioner, Manoj Kumar Sahoo, Deputy Election Commissioner, B. Narayanan, Director General (Media), NR Butolia, Senior Principal Secretary, and Deepali Masirkar (Director-Planning)

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article