Thursday, May 30, 2024

Filing of nominations begins in AP Nominations conclude on April 25, withdrawal deadline is April 29, and polling is scheduled for May 13

Must read

Notification issued for 175 Assembly and 25 Lok Sabha seats.
Polling times vary, with some areas affected by Left-Wing Extremism.
Eligible voters exceed 4.08 crore, with over half being women.
Direct electoral battle between YSRCP and TDP-JSP-BJP alliance.
Tripartite alliance aims to challenge YSRCP’s power.
Congress seeks revival under new leadership.
Seat-sharing agreement among alliance parties for Assembly and Lok Sabha

The notification for 175 Assembly and 25 Lok Sabha seats was issued by the Election Commission of India on Thursday. Polling for all 175 Assembly and 25 Lok Sabha seats will be held on May 13. The process for filing nominations began with the issue of the poll notification on Thursday. The election authorities will receive nominations until April 25. The scrutiny of nominations will be taken up the next day, while candidates can withdraw nominations until April 29.
Andhra Pradesh will see a direct electoral fight between the ruling YSRCP and the TDP-JSP-BJP alliance for simultaneous elections to the state Assembly and Lok Sabha.
Polling in all Assembly constituencies, except six, will be held from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m.

In three segments (Palakonda, Kurupam, and Salur) in Left-Wing Extremism (LWE)-affected areas, polling will conclude at 5 p.m., and in three other segments (Araku, Paderu, and Rampachodavaram), polling will end at 4 p.m.
Chief Electoral Officer Mukesh Kumar Meena said all arrangements have been made to receive nominations at the offices of all returning officers from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. on all days except public holidays.
Over 4.08 crore, more than half of them women, are eligible to cast their votes.
The poll notification has set the stage for a direct fight between the YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) and NDA comprising the Telugu Desam Party (TDP), Jana Sena Party (JSP), and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).
After a decade, the three parties have come together to take on YSRCP. The ruling party is confident of retaining power while the tripartite alliance is determined to deny it another term.
The Congress party, which drew a blank in Assembly and Lok Sabha polls in the state — both in 2014 and 2019 — is also hoping to revive its fortunes. With Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy’s sister YS Sharmila taking over the reins of the state unit of the Congress party, it is looking to improve its prospects.
In 2019, the YSRCP had wrested power from TDP by bagging 151 Assembly seats. The TDP won 23 seats while JSP secured one. The YSRCP had also captured 22 Lok Sabha seats with the TDP bagging the remaining three.
The TDP, JSP, and BJP have joined hands this time to avoid a split of anti-incumbency votes. Under the seat-sharing agreement, TDP is contesting 144 Assembly and 17 Lok Sabha seats. The JSP has fielded candidates in 21 Assembly segments and two Lok Sabha constituencies. The BJP is contesting 10 Assembly and six Lok Sabha seats.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article