Thursday, December 7, 2023

Five assembly elections: Polling from Nov 7- 30, counting on December 3

Must read

The Election Commission of India (ECI) announced the poll schedule for the upcoming Assembly elections in Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan, Telangana, and Mizoram.

The first one to go to the poll will be Mizoram, on November 7 followed by Chhattisgarh on November 7 and November 17 on November 17, followed by Rajasthan on November 23 and Telangana on November 30.

The Assembly elections this year are extremely significant as they come just months before the 2024 Lok Sabha polls and will reflect the mood of the electorate in the run-up to the general elections.

At present, there is a BJP government in Madhya Pradesh led by Shivraj Singh Chouhan. Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh have Congress governments led by Ashok Gehlot and Bhupesh Baghel respectively.

Telangana, on the other hand, has the Bharat Rashtra Samiti (BRS) government led by K Chandrasekhar Rao whereas the Mizo National Front (MNF), a BJP ally, is in power in Mizoram.

The terms of the legislative assemblies in Telangana, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, and Madhya Pradesh are set to conclude on various dates in January 2024, while the term of the Mizoram Legislative Assembly will end on December 17 this year.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article