Monday, February 26, 2024

Guv presents Red Cross awards to Collectors

Must read


Andhra Pradesh Governor & president of Indian Red Cross Society, Andhra Pradesh State branch, Biswabusan Harichandan presented the Red Cross awards to several District Collectors and others at a programme held at Durbar Hall in Raj Bhavan on Monday.

Earlier, Governor Harichandan inaugurated the State Disaster Response Force of the Red Cross and flagged off two vehicles procured for the purpose with the financial support of the National Insurance Company to the tune of Rs 45 lakh.

Speaking on the occasion, Governor Harichandan said that IRCS completed more than 100 years of providing humanitarian services by supplementing the efforts of the government authorities in mitigating the hardship caused to people in times of disasters and natural calamities.

The Governor said that the IRCS AP State Branch has taken up several initiatives during the past three years by providing humanitarian services, a massive tree plantation campaign, a blood donation campaign, etc. He said that as part of the Red Cross centenary celebrations, a cycle rally was organised to create awareness among the students and youth on the importance of voluntary service to society and to appreciate the services provided by the State branch during the COVID-19 pandemic and for organizing Special Multi-purpose Health Camps in the remote tribal areas.

He further said that the District Collectors had a key role to play in the Red Cross movement and appealed to all of them to bring convergence among all the voluntary organizations at the district level and connect them with the Red Cross by providing the required resources.

The Red Cross Appreciation Awards were presented to D Muralidhar Reddy, former Collector of East Godavari, J Nivas, former Collector of Srikakulam, Sumit Kumar, Collector, of Alluri Sitarama Raju district, Krithika Shukla, Collector Kakinada, KVN Chakradhar Babu, Nellore Collector, Sri Gopalakrishna, PO, Paderu ITDA, and other Awardees, who have supported the Red Cross Society by mobilising the highest number of membership and specific donations during the last three years.

The Governor also congratulated Dr A Sridhar Reddy, Chairman, AK Parida, General Secretary & CEO, RP Sisodia, Vice-President of the Indian Red Cross Society, and the whole team of the IRCS State Branch, for successfully implementing several activities by winning appreciation at the national level.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article