Monday, June 24, 2024

NTR’s native district set to host Naidu’s swearing-in ceremony

Must read

Krishna district, the native place of the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) founder Dr Nandamuri Taraka Rama Rao, popularly known as Dr NTR, is set to host the swearing-in ceremony of party national president N Chandrababu Naidu as Chief Minister of the State. Forty-two years after the inception of TDP, Dr NTR’s native district is going to host the swearing-in ceremony. No other chief minister of the State has been sworn in at the birthplace of their party founder. The function will occur at Kesarapalli on June 12.
Chandrababu Naidu is set to become chief minister for the second time after the State bifurcation.
TDP follows a pro-Telugu ideology. It was founded on March 29, 1982 by Dr NTR as an alternative to the Congress hegemony by emphasising Telugu regional pride and serving as the party for farmers, backward castes and middle-class people. Soon after the inception of the party, Dr NTR formed the first non-Congress government in the State in 1983. Later in the 1985 and 1994 elections, Dr NTR’s TDP registered big victories in the general elections and he was sworn in as chief minister.
Even in 1983, 1985 or 1994, Dr NTR was not sworn in as chief minister in his birthplace Krishna district. He was sworn in for the combined Andhra Pradesh in Hyderabad. The swearing-in ceremonies of other CMs were also held in Hyderabad. After the bifurcation, in 2014, Chandrababu Naidu was sworn in at a place near Mangalagiri, opposite Acharya Nagarjuna University.
On June 12, i.e. Wednesday, the State government is conducting the prestigious event at a private place near the IT Park at Kesarapalli.  Firstly, the programme was designed to be conducted at Amaravati. However, in view of the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, several other Chief Ministers, Governors, Central Ministers and various political party leaders, the government changed the venue to Kesarapalli.
TDP leaders, cadres, and supporters, however, are really happy about the development. “It is an unexpected thing. We never thought the swearing-in ceremony would take place in NTR’s birthplace. Forty-two years after the foundation of TDP by Dr NTR, his birthplace is hosting the swearing-in ceremony of N Chandrababu Naidu as Chief Minister,” said leaders of the TDP.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article