Saturday, February 24, 2024

Satya Column: Modi gave priority to contribution of all Prime Ministers

Must read

The Nehru Memorial Museum and Library at Teen Murthi Bhavan in Delhi has been renamed as the Prime Ministers’ Museum and Library Society. The Teen Murthi Bhavan is a symbol of imperialism. The structure was built after the British rulers had shifted their capital to Delhi. The building, built 90 years ago, was used as the residential quarters of the then British Army Commander-in-chief. The structure is not owned by Jawaharlal Nehru or his family members.

After the British left the shores of the country, Nehru, as the first Prime Minister resided in the building after 1947 for 16 years and died there. However, the Congress, after his death converted the building into his memorial and filled the building with Nehru’s personal belongings. Similarly, the bungalow in which former Prime Minister Indira Gandhi lived was converted into her memorial. The British engineer who had built the Teen Murthi Bhavan developed Connaught Place to enable the British to meet their shopping needs. The Connaught Place, in the heart of Delhi, was later renamed as Rajiv Chowk.

There are many institutions named after Nehru. The Jawaharlal Nehru University, which is home to several anarchic elements, is named after the first Prime Minister. Similarly, hundreds of Navodaya Vidyalayas have been named after Nehru. So are the Bal Bhavans. Many educational institutions, medical and health institutions, engineering institutions and research organisations have been named after Nehru. Several awards have been instituted in his name. Even parks, stadia, Centres of art, planetariums, highways, tunnels, bridges, and canals were not spared. There are thousands of idols of Jawaharlal Nehru releasing pigeons into air across the nation. The Urban Development Mission has been named as Jawaharlal Nehru Urban Renewal Mission. There are many institutions, highways, projects, and schemes named after Indira Gandhi and Rajiv Gandhi. Also, medical and health, educational institutions, stadia, and airports were named after the two leaders. In all villages, idols of Indira Gandhi and Rajiv Gandhi were installed. A query raised under the RTI in 2013 yielded the fact that at least 450 schemes, buildings, projects, and institutions have been named after Nehru, Indira, and Rajiv.

During the lifetime of Nehru and Indira, they received Bharat Ratna. Rajiv Gandhi also won Bharat Ratna. Surprisingly, the architect of Indian Constitution Dr BR Ambedkar was awarded Bharat Ratna posthumously in 1990 by the Janata Dal government, of which the BJP was a coalition partner.

Modi, soon after he was voted to power, gave equal priority to the memorials of all PMs at Raj Ghat. In the same fashion, he turned the Teen Murthi Bhavan into a wonderful museum highlighting the developments achieved under the regimes of various PMs. The Museum showcases the progress achieved by more than 90% of the Cong PMs. There was no space provided in the museum for the achievements during the last nine years of the Modi regime. Surprisingly, the schemes that are supposed to be implemented in the name of the Prime Minister are being named by states with their own names. The Central government’s schemes are being implemented under the title ‘Jagananna’ and ‘KCR’. Deriving political benefits with funds provided by the Centre reflects debased politics. Even then, the PM is not bothered about it. He did not implement any scheme for his personal benefit. He yearns to root out the imperialist and slave culture. Hence, he renamed Raj Path as Karthavya Path. He gave priority to leaders like Subhash Chandra Bose and Sardar Patel to enable the people to derive inspiration from them on a permanent basis.

In January last, Modi got 21 big areas of the Andaman Nicobar Islands named after 21 war heroes decorated with Param Vir Chakra. This stands as an example of how patriotism runs deep into his veins. The Ross Island has been renamed as Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose island and dedicated a national memorial in his name to the nation. The PM called upon people to celebrate 126th birth anniversary of Netaji as that of Parakram Divas. Till recently, the names of islands were symbols of the colonial rule. Now these islands have been named after Major Somnath Sarma, Peeru Singh, Major Saitan Singh, Capt Manoj Pande, Subedar Lance Naik, Veer Abdul Mohammad, and Major Ramaswamy Parameswaran and so on. The name of Caption Vikram Batra, who sacrificed his life in the Kargil War, was given to a mountain in Andaman Nicobar Islands. Modi did not hesitate to name institutions and places after the martyrs who had made more sacrifices for the sake of the country.
None can change the slavish mentality of Congress leaders. At the same time, the patriotism of Narendra Modi is beyond doubt.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article