Monday, March 4, 2024

T20 World Cup final: Same team for England, Pakistan; Jos Buttler opts to bowl

Must read

England captain Jos Buttler won the toss on Sunday and opted to bowl against Pakistan in the T20 World Cup 2022 final at Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG). Both Pakistan and England have decided to field the same teams from their respective semi-final games. While England thrashed India by 10 wickets in Adelaide, Pakistan overcame last year’s runners-up New Zealand in the last-four stage in Sydney earlier this week.

Buttler said that there is a “lot of good energy around the team” and they are looking forward to a great game. “We are going to bowl first. Huge game, good nerves and there was a lot of good energy around the team. Great energy in the stadium and we are looking forward to a great game. Both teams come into this final in red hot form and we are looking forward to a tough challenge.

“I think it is a good wicket and hopefully it will stay the same throughout. Obviously, there’s a little bit of weather around which is why we chose to bowl. We start fresh today, we bring confidence from the other day but we know it counts for nothing today. Same team,” added Buttler after winning the toss on Sunday.

Pakistan captain Babar Azam admitted that he was also looking to bowl first but since the toss is not in their hands his side will now look to put as many runs as possible on the board in the first innings at MCG. “We would’ve also bowled first but toss is not in our hands, so we will try to put runs on the board and put pressure on them. We have good momentum with us and will try to continue with it. We lost our first few games but have come back strongly and want to continue that in the final.

“A win always gives you confidence and with the way the team is playing, we will give our 100 percent. Yes history repeats (referring to the 1992 World Cup), we will try to win this game and hold the cup. Same team,” added Babar.

Pakistan vs England: Playing XIs Pakistan XI: Babar Azam(c), Mohammad Rizwan(wk), Mohammad Haris, Shan Masood, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf, Shaheen

Afridi England XI: Jos Buttler(wk/c), Alex Hales, Philip Salt, Ben Stokes, Harry Brook, Liam Livingstone, Moeen Ali, Sam Curran, Chris Woakes, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid As both England and Pakistan have won the T20 World Cup once in the past, the winner of Sunday’s finale will join West Indies as two-time champions.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles


  1. I have been exploring for a little bit for any high quality articles or weblog posts
    on this kind of house . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this website.
    Reading this info So i’m glad to express that I’ve a very excellent uncanny
    feeling I found out just what I needed. I so much without
    a doubt will make sure to don?t forget this site and give it a glance regularly.

  2. Do you have a spam problem on this website; I also am a
    blogger, and I was wanting to know your situation; many of us have developed some nice
    practices and we are looking to exchange techniques with others, please shoot me
    an e-mail if interested.

  3. Hello! This post couldn’t be written any better!
    Reading through this post reminds me of my
    old room mate! He always kept chatting about this.
    I will forward this article to him. Fairly certain he will have a good
    read. Thank you for sharing!

  4. I think the admin of this website is truly working hard for
    his site, for the reason that here every stuff is quality based stuff.

  5. Very good blog! Do you have any hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you suggest starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid
    option? There are so many choices out there that I’m totally overwhelmed ..
    Any tips? Appreciate it!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article