Monday, March 4, 2024

Tap connections provided to 50 households

Must read

NTR District Collector, S Dilli Rao, has commended the efforts of Pondugula Grama Samakhya for completing the Jal Jeevan Mission (JJM) pipeline installation and providing drinking water tap connections to 50 households, all within a budget of Rs 2.55 lakh. Moreover, the Samakhya demonstrated exceptional fiscal responsibility by saving Rs 95,000 from the allocated Rs 3.50 lakh.
Under the Community Contracting System, Pondugula Grama Samakhya undertook the responsibility of laying the JJM pipeline to facilitate water tap connections in households. The Rural Water Supply & Sanitation (RWS&S) sanctioned Rs 3.50 lakh for this project, and under the guidance of the District Rural Development Agency (DRDA), the Samakhya efficiently completed the work within a short timeframe, resulting in significant savings for the state government.
Members of Pondugula Grama Samakhya, including B Adi Lakshmi, A Uma Rani, B Elizabeth Rani, G Venkateswaramma, and G Bunny, were felicitated by District Collector Dilli Rao at the Collectorate in Vijayawada on Saturday. The Collector lauded their dedication to the project during the meeting.
During his address, Collector Dilli Rao highlighted that the Gram Samakhya had initially set a target of providing 35 drinking water tap connections and completing the JJM pipeline work worth Rs 3.5 lakh. However, he commended the Samakhya members for surpassing expectations by delivering 15 additional tap connections, reducing the cost to Rs 2.55 lakh, and saving Rs 95,000 for the government.
Moreover, Collector Dilli Rao acknowledged the Pondugula Self Help Group (SHG) members, who are also Grama Samakhya members, as exemplary role models. Their hands-on approach and diligent supervision of the project led to a reduction in expenditure, setting a positive example not only in the district but across the state.
The event was graced by DRDA Project Director K Srinivasa Rao, RWS&S Superintending Engineer Devineni Venkata Ramana, District Cooperative Officer Ch Sailaja, APM M Samuel, IB Pavan Jyothi, and other dignitaries.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article