Wednesday, May 29, 2024

8 medical colleges to be launched today

Must read


Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao will launch the commencement of educational classes in the newly established eight Government Medical Colleges at 12 pm at one go online from Pragathi Bhavan on Tuesday.

First academic year of MBBS course in eight new government medical colleges – Sangareddy, Mahabubabad, Mancherial, Jagtiyal, Vanaparthi, Kothagudem, Nagarkurnool and Ramagundam towns will be started by the Chief Minister. In all, 1,150 first year MBBS students will begin their medical education from Tuesday.

Minister Harish Rao said that this is a record in itself. He said, “Zero contribution and repeated discrimination from the Central Government didn’t stop Telangana government because CM KCR accords top priority to people’s health and increased medical colleges from five to 17 in eight years.”

The number of MBBS seats has increased by 228%, PG seats by 11% and 100% increase in super-speciality seats. There were 850 MBBS seats in 2014 which went up to 2,790 in 2022-23, PG seats from 531 to 1,122 and super-speciality from 76 to 152. The state has established medical colleges initially in Suryapet, Siddipet, Mahabubanagar after the state’s formation.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article