Tuesday, June 25, 2024

Committees spell trouble

Must read

K Venkateshwarlu

The Congress unit in Telangana split vertically on Saturday between Original Congress leaders and Migrant Congress leaders as the trouble caused by the appointment of TPCC committees peaked.

Describing themselves as original Congress leaders, many senior leaders described TPCC president Revanth Reddy and his faction as the Migrant Congress.Declaring a revolt against Revanth Reddy without mentioning his name, Original Congress leaders made it clear that they will launch a movement against migrant Congress leaders named ‘Save Congress.’ The Original Congress leaders also said that they will boycott the TPCC Political Affairs Committee (PAC) and Executive Committee (EC) meetings being held on Sunday at the Gandhi Bhavan. They not only decided to boycott these meetings but also decided to boycott programmes attended by Revanth Reddy. They also decided to settle the matter with the high command directly.

Original Congress leaders also decided to conduct another meeting within a couple of days to announce their future course of action and invited more leaders to the meeting.

Original Congress leaders took this extreme step due to the increasing unhappiness among party leaders with the new committees. Some leaders quit their positions.

However, these senior leaders, who had a meeting on Saturday with CLP leader Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka, complained that positions have been given to those who came from the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) at the cost of Original Congress leaders.

The dissident leaders of the Congress have already met at Bhatti’s residence a few days ago and discussed new committees. However, they once again met at Bhatti’s residence and made it clear that people without character are running the party and to save the party they will go ahead with the slogan ‘Save Congress.’

The leaders who are dissatisfied with Revanth are expressing anger with the affairs of the committees and they said that the Original Congress belongs to them. They alleged that the party gave positions to 54 TDP leaders out of the 108 positions announced by the high command.

Senior Congress leaders N. Uttam Kumar Reddy, M. Kodanda Reddy, Madhu Yashki Goud, Damodara Raja Narsimha, T. Jagga Reddy, A. Maheshwar Reddy, Kokkirala Premsagar Rao and others attended the meeting at Bhatti’s residence.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article