Friday, December 1, 2023

Focus on Minority welfare

Must read

Reiterating his commitment to the welfare of Minorities, Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy has said that the State government has spent Rs 23,175 crore for minority welfare through DBT and non-DBT schemes out of the Rs 2, 40, 000 crore incurred on various welfare schemes in the last 53 months.
On the occasion of the birth anniversary of Bharat Ratna Moulana Abul Kalam Azad, which is also observed as National Education Day and Minorities’ Welfare Day, the Chief Minister, addressing a gathering here on Saturday, said that his father Dr YS Rajaskehara Reddy worked for the welfare of Muslims by introducing reservations for them for the first time.
“I have taken the cause forward and the government is working for their social, economic, educational and political empowerment.”
While there was not a single Muslim Minister during the previous TDP rule, there are four Muslim MLAs and four MLCs as law makers, he said, adding that one of the Deputy Chief Ministers and Deputy Chairperson of the Legislative Council are from Minorities.
“Ours is the only government that has been implementing different welfare programmes for Minorities with empathy and made a law for giving 50 per cent of the nominated posts to SC, ST, BC and Minorities.
He further said YSRCP government is the only one which had issued orders for protecting the properties of Wakf Board and churches, besides paying monthly honorarium of Rs 10,000 each to imams and Rs 5,000 each to mouzams and pastors and which is implementing sub-plan for Minorities.
He said that the AP government had also introduced Urdu as a second language in schools besides arranging Haj Yatras from Vijayawada.
Along with SC, ST, BC communities, Minorities are also reaping the benefits of various welfare schemes and YSR Kalyanamasthu Shaadi Tohfa has also helped Muslim girls pursue education.
The Chief Minister was felicitated by the Minority leaders after he gave away the Life Time Achievement and other Awards for 2023 for Muslim scholars.
While Dr SA Sattar Saheb (Kadapa district) was presented the Moulana Azad National award, Baba Frakruddin (Annamayya district) and Dr Patan Karimulla (Chittoor district) received the Dr Abdul Haq award.
Lifetime Achievement Awards were presented to Mohammad Azmat Ali (Kurnool district), Patan Mohammad Khan (Chittoor district), Shaik Abdul Gaffar (Kurnool district), Syed Shafi Ahamad Quadri (Tirupati district) and Mohammad Gouse Arif (Kadapa district).
Deputy Chief Minister (Minority Welfare) SB Amzath Basha and other minority leaders attended the programme.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article