Saturday, April 13, 2024

It’s official: TDP, JSP, BJP join hands to take on YSRCP

Must read

The political landscape in Andhra Pradesh is set for a significant shift as the TDP-JSP alliance, along with the BJP, has confirmed their joint participation in the upcoming 2024 general elections. The BJP extended an invitation to the TDP to join the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), which has been accepted by TDP leader Chandrababu Naidu, marking their reunion after nearly six years of severed ties.
Welcoming the TDP and Jana Sena Party into the NDA fold, BJP national president JP Nadda expressed commitment to national progress. He underscored the collective dedication of the alliance towards the advancement of the country.
In a joint statement issued by JP Nadda, TDP President N Chandrababu Naidu, and Jana Sena Party leader Pawan Kalyan, the alliance affirmed its dedication to the progress of the nation and the welfare of the people of Andhra Pradesh under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.
Nadda emphasized Prime Minister Modi’s unwavering efforts towards national development over the past decade and highlighted the alliance’s potential to fulfil the aspirations of the people of Andhra Pradesh.
The historical alliance between the BJP and TDP dates back to 1996 when the TDP joined the NDA. Since then, they have collaborated successfully during the tenures of Atal Bihari Vajpayee and Narendra Modi. The parties fought the 2014 Lok Sabha and assembly elections together, solidifying their partnership. The Jana Sena Party had lent its support during the 2014 general and assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh.
While the modalities of seat sharing are yet to be finalized officially, discussions are underway among the alliance members. Reports suggest that while the Lok Sabha seat allocation appears settled, the BJP is pushing for a larger share compared to its ally, the Jana Sena Party, in terms of Lok Sabha seats.
It’s reported that the BJP is likely to contest six Lok Sabha seats, with the Jana Sena Party eyeing two, leaving the remaining 17 for the TDP. Additionally, the BJP and JSP are expected to contest on 30 Assembly seats together, though the BJP seeks a higher share.
Further reports indicate that the BJP may field candidates in around six Assembly seats, while the TDP is set to contest the remaining 145 seats in the Andhra Pradesh elections. An official announcement regarding the seat allocation is expected soon.
Ahead of the 2024 general elections, Chandrababu Naidu, Amit Shah, and JP Nadda held a second round of talks on Saturday to finalize the deal. The simultaneous conduct of Lok Sabha and Assembly elections adds to the anticipation surrounding this political collaboration.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article