Monday, June 24, 2024

13 Maoists surrender in ASR district

Must read

Thirteen militia members of the banned CPI (Maoist) from the Ginnelakota pocket of Pedabayalu surrendered to the Alluri Sitaram Raju (ASR) district police on Sunday. The surrendered militants, ranging in age from 24 to 48, are all natives of Ginnelakota and Jamiguda panchayats in Pedabayalu mandal.
The individuals were identified as Killo Simhadri (24), Vanthala Nagesh (38), Pangi Pilku Naidu, Killo Chiranjeevi (30), Vanthala Rambabu (28), Vanthala Donnu Babu (25), Ganta Mohan Rao (25), G. Panthula Padal (48), Manuguri Nagaraju (38), Chikkudu Ram Murthy (27), Chikkudu Ganesh alias Ganne Rao (25), Pangi Pulsu alias Tingu (29), and Pangi Ramdas (28).
Killo Simhadri, who had been active since 2017 after his brother’s arrest, faces 19 pending cases. Vanthala Nagesh joined the Maoist outfit in 2015 and has eight pending cases. The militia members were involved in organizing meetings, supplying food to extremists, participating in Praja (illegal kangaroo courts) courts, and engaging in arson.
ASR district Superintendent of Police Tuhin Sinha addressed the media, explaining that the lack of proper leadership in the Maoist ranks in Pedabayalu, following numerous arrests and surrenders, has contributed to the militants’ decision to surrender. Sinha emphasized that community welfare initiatives by the district police have played a significant role in encouraging these surrenders.
The surrendered militants will receive government benefits, including land, as part of their rehabilitation. SP Sinha urged remaining Maoists to abandon their violent ideology and integrate into mainstream society. He highlighted the recent discovery of a Maoist cache in the Sileru forest area as evidence of ongoing security efforts.
Sinha noted the high voter turnout in recent elections in previously Maoist-impacted areas like Chintapally, Pedabayalu, and GKVeedhi, indicating strong community support for democratic processes. He reassured the public about the peaceful conduct of the elections, backed by robust security measures and clear procedural communication to candidates and political parties. SP Sinha reiterated the prohibition of rallies or victory celebrations on counting day, emphasising the commitment to maintaining peace and order.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article