Wednesday, April 24, 2024

Sravan, Satyanarayana urge Guv to nominate them as MLCs

Must read

BRS leaders Dasoju Sravan Kumar and Kurra Satyanarayana have requested Governor  Tamilisai Soundararajan to adhere to the High Court’s directives and nominate them as members of the Legislative Council (MLCs) under the Governor’s quota.
Both leaders have submitted separate representations, providing detailed information about their backgrounds, qualifications, and activities. They emphasized their eligibility for the MLC post and urged the Governor to appoint them.
Addressing the media at Telangana Bhavan,  Dasoju Sravan and Satyanarayana appealed to the Governor to implement the High Court’s orders issued on March 7, 2024. They stated that the court had directed reconsidering their nomination as MLCs under the Governor’s quota.
Sravan Kumar highlighted his credentials as a social worker, a doctorate in Organisational Behaviour, a teacher, a researcher in human resource management and development studies, an acclaimed film producer, artist, RTI and public interest activist, public policy researcher, corporate HR professional, media analyst, committed Telangana statehood activist, and former student leader at Nalgonda and Osmania University, Hyderabad, representing Akhil Bhartiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP). Sravan also indicated in his letter, he sacrificed entire professional career for the sake of public service.
Kurra Satyanarayana, on the other hand, identified himself as a protégé of Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) during the early days of his life, a firebrand tribal rights activist, social worker, Bharatiya Mazdoor Sangh (BMS) trade union leader, environmentalist, and committed Telangana statehood activist. He emphasised belonging to the most marginalized and vulnerable nomadic tribal community, Yerukala, engaged in pig rearing and basket weaving for livelihood and sustenance.
They pointed out that the Council of Ministers had previously approved their nomination on July 31, 2023, in accordance with Article 171(5) of the Constitution of India. And also stated they do not attract any disqualification under article 191 of Indian constitution.
However, the nomination was later rejected through an order dated September 19, 2023, prompting them to seek constitutional justice through WP No. 180 and WP 181 of 2024.
The High Court, in its meticulous examination of the case, overturned the earlier orders, quashing the rejection of Sravan Kumar and Satyanarayana’s nomination.
It declared that the Governor is obligated to act in accordance with the aid and advice of the Council of Ministers in matters of nominations under Article 171(5). The court also quashed the appointments made in favour of Prof Kodandram Reddy and Amer Ali Khan on 27th January, 2024 while the matter is subjudice and also that the first action is treated as illegal and then all other consequential actions are declared as illegal and hence quashed subsequent appointments.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article