Tuesday, April 16, 2024

TDP yet to finalise candidates for Mylavaram and Penamaluru seats

Must read

The Telugu Desam Party (TDP) is yet to finalise its candidates for assembly constituencies in the combined Krishna district, stirring anticipation among party leaders and workers. Despite two lists of candidates being announced, the TDP has not decided on who will contest from these crucial constituencies.
On Thursday, TDP Supremo and former Chief Minister N. Chandrababu Naidu unveiled a second list comprising 34 names after consultations with alliance party leaders. Notably, several senior leaders’ names were omitted from this list, and the Penamaluru and Mylavaram constituencies remain unallocated.
Recently, Mylavaram YSRCP MLA Vasantha Krishna Prasad joined the TDP, expressing a keen interest in contesting from his former constituency. This development has left the constituency in charge and former minister, Devineni Uma Maheswara Rao, apprehensive about his seat. Consequently, the party is contemplating nominating Devineni Uma Maheswara Rao or MS Baig for Penamaluru. Therefore, the TDP’s candidates for both constituencies are still pending finalization.
According to party sources, following the release of the initial list, TDP leadership engaged in discussions with former minister Devineni Uma Maheswara Rao. Subsequently, sitting MLA Vasantha Krishna Prasad intensified his campaign activities in the constituency. Meanwhile, another potential candidate for Mylavaram, former Sarpanch Bommasani Subba Rao, maintained silence regarding his candidacy.
However, indications suggest that the TDP may lean towards allocating Mylavaram to Vasantha Krishna Prasad. Meanwhile, Vasantha Krishna Prasad is actively touring all mandals and engaging with TDP leaders. Notably, many senior leaders, who are close associates of Devineni Uma Maheswara Rao, have also met with Krishna Prasad. Sources within the party suggest that the Mylavaram seat will likely be granted to Vasantha Krishna Prasad.
The party leadership clarified that there is a significant Muslim minority voter base in the Penamaluru constituency. Therefore, if Devineni Uma Maheswara Rao’s candidacy is not considered, the party will likely nominate MS Baig. Despite Baig expressing a desire to contest from Vijayawada West, the seat has already been allocated to the alliance parties.
Party strategists note that historically, no Muslim minority candidates have been fielded in this district, except in the Vijayawada West constituency. Thus, MS Baig’s potential candidacy represents a significant milestone in district politics.
Moreover, party sources anticipate that the third list, covering the remaining 16 constituencies in the state, will be released within one or two days.
It is expected that the candidates for the Penamaluru and Mylavaram constituencies will be finalized in this list.
Meanwhile, former MLA Bode Prasad and his supporters have expressed dissatisfaction with the party leadership’s decision to change the candidate in Penamaluru for the upcoming elections. Following communication from the party’s central office, Bode Prasad’s supporters and followers have contemplated resigning from their party positions. However, the party leadership is actively engaging in discussions with them to uphold the interests of the tri-party alliance.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article