Thursday, May 30, 2024

38 nominations filed in NTR dist, 31 in Krishna

Must read

In the fervour of the forthcoming general elections, a vibrant display of democratic participation unfolded as 38 candidates zealously submitted their nomination papers for the esteemed Vijayawada Lok Sabha Constituency and seven assembly segments within the NTR district on Monday. Additionally, the Machilipatnam Parliamentary Constituency and its accompanying seven assembly constituencies witnessed the filing of around 31 nominations, further underscoring the spirited engagement in the electoral process.
On the fourth day of the nomination filing phase, six candidates vied for the Vijayawada Lok Sabha seat, while three aspirants threw their hats into the ring for the Machilipatnam Parliamentary constituency. Among them, prominent figures such as Dr Simhadri Chandrasekhar Rao of the YSRCP, D Deva Mani from the BSP, and independent candidate G Venka Kedareswara Rao asserted their electoral ambitions by formally filing their nomination papers before the esteemed election officer and Krishna district collector, DK Balaji.
In a ceremonial display of democratic fervour, incumbent MP Kesineni Srinivas, popularly known as Nani, led a procession from the revered Vinayaka Temple to the Collectorate after performing a special Pooja. Accompanied by MLA candidates Saminen Udaya Bhanu, Nallagatla Swamy Das, and Sarnala Tirupati Rao, Kesineni Nani submitted his nomination papers alongside other contenders such as Kesineni Swetha, Ch Gangadhar Gandhi of the Pyramid Party of India, Sayyed Kamurinnisa representing the Navarang Congress party, N Daradha Rami Reddy from the All India Jaihind Party, and Independent candidate D Mallikharjuna.
Following suit, 32 additional nominations were tendered for the seven assembly constituencies within the NTR district. Notably, YSRCP candidate and MLA for Vijayawada Central, Velamaplli Srinivasa Rao, orchestrated a spirited rally from Sivaji Café at Satyanarayanapuram to the esteemed office of the VMC Commissioner, Swapnil Dinakar Pundkar, before officially submitting his nomination papers.
The momentum of nominations surged further as six contenders each stepped into the electoral fray for the Vijayawada West and Vijayawada East segments. YSRCP’s Reshma Mohammed and TDP’s Gadde Rama Mohan Rao, MLA for Vijayawada East, submitted their nominations amidst fervent support from their respective party members and well-wishers.
Meanwhile, in a strategic move, TDP’s Vasantha Krishna Prasad, accompanied by MP candidate Kesineni Sivanath and former minister Devineni Uma Maheswara Rao, filed their nominations before the esteemed RO and joint collector Dr P Sampath Kumar at Mylavaram. Krishna Prasad led a spirited rally from Ibrahimpatnam to Mylavaram, showcasing robust support for the party’s electoral endeavours. Furthermore, TDP’s Tangirala Sowmya for Nandigama and Kolikapudi Srinivasa Rao for Tiruvuru submitted their candidatures, underscoring the party’s widespread participation across various constituencies.
In the Krishna district, the political landscape saw former minister and sitting MLA Kodali Sri Venkateswara Rao, also known as Nani, alongside Kodali Nageswara Rao, asserting their electoral presence by submitting two sets of nomination papers for the Gudivada segment as YSRCP candidates. Similarly, Kagitha Krishna Prasad filed his nomination as a TDP candidate for the Pedana segment, while Perni Vaka Sai Krishna Murthy represented the YSRCP in the Machilipatnam assembly constituency.
Adding to the tapestry of political engagements, Jana Sena Party’s Mandali Buddha Prasad-Avanigadda and YSRCP’s Kaile Anil Kumar and Gnana Mani threw their hats into the electoral ring for the Pamarru segment, signalling the diverse spectrum of political aspirations amidst the electorate.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article