Wednesday, April 24, 2024

Nine candidates who switched sides in fray

Must read

In the upcoming elections in the combined Krishna district, nine candidates will contest the polls with changed political affiliations. Two sitting MLAs have switched to the Opposition TDP from the ruling YSRCP, and are contesting in the elections.
Similarly, one sitting MP switched loyalty to YSRCP from TDP, while the second one joined JSP from YSRCP. Two sitting MPs are once again contesting from their respective Lok Sabha constituencies of Vijayawada and Machilipatnam. Interestingly, both MPs have switched sides and are now contesting with different party symbols.
Vijayawada MP Kesineni Srinivas alias Nani is once again contesting from the same Lok Sabha constituency, however, for the other side. He got a ticket from the ruling YSRCP after defecting from TDP, alleging lack of importance in that party. In the past two elections, he was elected as MP from Vijayawada on TDP ticket. However, this time, he is representing YSRCP. Machilipatnam MP Vallabhaneni Balashowry has also changed his political loyalties. He was elected from Machilipatnam in the previous elections in the YSRCP symbol. Following differences with the party leaders in Machilipatnam, he switched to the Jana Sena Party (JSP) and is contesting this time with the support of TDP and BJP. Thanks to these developments, there is an increased curiosity among the people regarding the results. For the parties, on the other hand, the contests in these six Assembly and two Lok Sabha constituencies will be prestigious.
YSRCP’s sitting MLA Kolusu Parthasaradhi, who was elected from Penamaluru twice, was denied ticket this time. The party encouraged Minister Jogi Ramesh who is representing Pedana for Penamaluru. So, Parthasaradhi defected from the party and joined TDP and he is contesting from the Nuzvid Assembly segment. Also, Mylavaram MLA Vasantha Krishna Prasad joined TDP after YSRCP refused to give him a ticket for the second time. He is contesting as TDP candidate from the same constituency.
Likewise, Dr Vallabhaneni Vamsi Mohan, who was elected as TDP MLA from Gannavaram in the previous elections, is now contesting as the YSRCP candidate from the constituency. After being elected, he was associated with the ruling YSRCP and made allegations against TDP. Interestingly, Yarlagadda Venkata Rao, who lost to Vamsi Mohan, joined TDP and is now a rival candidate to Vamsi.
Former Deputy Speaker Mandali Buddha Prasad also switched sides as the Avanigadda constituency was allotted to the Jana Sena Party as per the seat-sharing agreement. He is a main ticket aspirant from the TDP. However, he joined JSP and is likely to contest. Furthermore, former union minister Yalamachili Satyanarayana Chowdary alias Sujana Chowdary is contesting from the Vijayawada West segment as a BJP candidate. He started his political career with TDP and after losing elections in 2019, he joined BJP.
Also, Devineni Avinash, YSRCP candidate in Vijayawada East, contested from Gudivada in the previous elections as the TDP candidate.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article